Purple Pickled Eggs

DSC_1161

I love eggs. Remember how Gaston inhaled them in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast? He might be my spirit animal. That or a snake. Snakes like eggs, too. But, you want to know what else I love? Pickles. Now put them together and we’ve got pickled eggs. I die.

I first encountered this amazing treat while visiting The Man’s family a couple Christmases, ago. There it was, just sitting in the corner, a giant container of eggs floating about in a mysterious purple liquid. No one seemed to be paying it much attention, but I was curious obsessed. What was this? Why was it purple? Why wasn’t everyone fighting to the death when there were clearly eggs in the room?

As it was my first time meeting the extended family, I had to hold back my excitement and play it cool. I nonchalantly inquired about the purple globes and was informed that they were pickled eggs. Hadn’t I seen pickled eggs before? Um, no. That’s not really a Korean thing. Which is incredibly unfortunate, because it should be. It should be everyone’s thing.

The worst part of that entire trip is easily that I was only able to eat one egg. Any more, and I would’ve looked like a freak. But, it was too late — I had developed the hunger. I was going to have to make these myself. And now, friends, you can, too.

Purple Pickled Eggs

(adapted from EatingWell’s Pickled Turnips)

  • 1 beet, cut into thick strips
  • 3 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1 jalapeno, sliced
  • 3 cups white vinegar
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 T salt
  • 2 T sugar
  • 6 hard-boiled eggs, shells removed
  1. Divide the beet strips, shelled hard-boiled eggs, garlic, and jalapeno slices  into heatproof (preferably glass) jars.
  2. Combine vinegar, water, salt and sugar in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Stir until the salt and sugar dissolve, and then boil for 2 more minutes. Remove from heat.
  3. Pour vinegar mixture into your heatproof containers, covering beets and eggs.
  4. Leave the eggs for a few days before diving in. Don’t forget to eat the beets, too!

pickled eggs

4 thoughts on “Purple Pickled Eggs

  1. Pingback: Scrambled Eggs and Spinach on Rye Toast | natureunchecked

  2. Pingback: showing off (again) | Willow's Corner

Leave a Reply

