Baked Sriracha Hot Wings

sriracha hot wings

Step away from the deep fryer. If I can do it, you can, too.

You may have noticed a small sporting event taking place yesterday. I’m not a big fan of football, but I’ll take any excuse to make glamorized junk food. Last year, The Man and I decided we would actually sit down and watch the Super Bowl together, and to him that required fried chicken from a fast food joint. I know what you’re thinking, I know that you’re judging, and, you know what? I’m judging, too. The worst part is that it’s totally a thing in his mind, now. All televised sporting events must include chicken — delicious, fried chicken. This tradition is so ingrained in his head that he almost bought a deep fryer the other day in preparation for the Big Game. A deep fryer, folks. For my kitchen. How did I persuade him not to do it? I told him that deep fryers were the first appliance to get thrown out of every house Jamie Oliver visits. It worked, however, I was still tasked with buffalo wing preparation.

So, The Man wants buffalo wings. Snore. Despite my initial hesitation, I went ahead and bought a pack of wings from the store, took them home and cut them up myself (it’s easy, I swear, check out this video), and started researching. I perused a few recipes before finally settling on what I thought would work and you, my favorite readers, would enjoy: Sriracha wings. I know everyone has a Sriracha wing recipe, but these are so good. They’re spicy, sweet, and so, so crispy, and I didn’t even fry them.  The trick is to steam and then chill the wings before baking them. And, you don’t need a sporting event to make them. Just do it. Maybe tonight? Try it, and tell me what you think.

Baked Sriracha Wings

(adapted from Bon Appetit Sambal Chicken Skewers)

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ lb chicken wings
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 2 T rice vinegar
  • 1 T fish sauce
  • 5 T Sriracha
  • 1 T garlic, chopped
  • ¼ t ground ginger (you could use real ginger, but I only had ground)
  • 2 T butter

Directions:

  1. Steam the wings in a basket for 10 minutes. Place the wings on a paper-towel lined tray and put them in the fridge. Chill for an hour.
  2. Preheat the oven to 425˚.
  3. Mix brown sugar, vinegar, fish sauce, Sriracha, garlic, and ginger in a bowl.
  4. Place the wings on a parchment-lined baking tray and cook for 20 minutes. Flip and cook for another 10-15 minutes (depending on the size of the wings).
  5. Heat the Sriracha mixture and 2 T butter in a saucepan over low heat. Don’t cook this too long, just until the butter melts and is incorporated. You can reduce the sauce to your desired consistency.
  6. Take the wings out and toss with the Sriracha sauce until fully coated.
  7. Not optional: Serve with napkins.
One thought on “Baked Sriracha Hot Wings

Leave a Reply

