My, What Large Meatballs You Have There

collage

The Man is running late and it’s miserable outside. The weather in the Bay Area is super gross in the winter. It rains, it’s cold. Sometimes it’s not cold, then it’s just muggy. Ugh. Who’s a grumpy kitty? *Raises hand* Clearly, I’m in need of some comfort. Big, fat Italian meatballs dripping in a homemade tomato sauce ought to perk me right up. Yowza!

Who doesn’t love a couple of giant meatballs smothered in some fantastic variation of tomato sauce goodness? Now, who feels guilty scarfing those puppies down without stopping to breathe? *Raises hand* Alright, let’s kill this guilt by substituting some lean, mean ground turkey thigh for the traditional beef/pork mix. Also, we’re going to bake these suckers … in a muffin pan! Bampf! Ok, I’m done with sound effects.

I’ve made a ton of meatballs in my time. All different sizes, flavors, sauces, textures, methods of cooking – you name it, I’ve probably tried it. And, if I haven’t, I still want you to name it so that I can. Today’s recipe is inspired by two very different meatball recipes I stumbled upon today. I love both these blogs — for different reasons — and I’m excited to share my hybrid meatball recipe with ya’ll, now.

meatMighty Healthy Meatballs

Inspired by Blogilates’ Super Healthy, Utra Clean Meatball Recipe and Simply Recipe’s Italian Meatballs Recipe

  • 1 1/2 lb ground turkey thigh meat
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 cup steel-cut oatmeal
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 t oregano
  • 2 t salt
  1. Preheat your oven to 375°.
  2. Gently mix all ingredients together in a big bowl. (I used my clean hands).
  3. Lightly oil your muffin pan to prevent the meatballs from sticking.
  4. Form meatballs with your hands and put them in your muffin pan. (Mine were about 2 1/2 inches in diameter – MONSTERS – and I made 11 meatballs).
  5. Bake your meatballs (in the muffin pan) for about 35 minutes. Check on them – if they’re not done, keep cooking for another 10 minutes or so. Mine took a little less than an hour, but they were enormous!

I served three meatballs with whole wheat spaghetti and a homemade (super simple, super easy) tomato sauce.

Leave a Reply

